The old house, rebuilt in 1881, has an enclosed forecourt, with topiary, box-edged beds and a picturesque woodland garden specialising in magnolias, camellias and rhododendrons. The garden design is in the Victorian Mixed Style with Gardenesque planting. The courtyard garden has rose beds and rows of Irish yews. It is set in an estate of 364 hectares (900 acres) of woods and parkland running down to the River Fowey, with numerous footpaths to wander along. In the middle ages Lanhydrock was a grange (an outlying farm and buildings belonging to a monastery). It was uninhabited in the early 18th century and mostly rebuilt at the end of the 19th century, when the old deer park became a landscape garden. There is a pair of late C17 bronze urns from the gardens at the Chateau de Bagatelle in Paris. The garden east of the house was designed in 1857 by George Gilbert Scott on the site of a bowling green. A gothic stone arbour is set into the retaining wall and steps lead to the parish church of St Hydroc.
Bodmin, Cornwall, England, PL30 5AD
See Lanhydrock website for entrance charge and opening times