The Stansted Park estate began in the 11th century as a hunting lodge in a forest. A great house was built in 1688. After several owners and a disastrous fire in 1900, the present mansion was rebuilt on the 'footprint' of the old house became the home of the Earls of Bessborough in 1924. Today there are 1750 acres of deer park and woodland. There is an arboretum and a Victorian walled garden which has been planted with roses and herbaceous plants.Ivan Hicks designed an exotic Garden in Mind for Standsted, which was later replaced by a yew maze.
Arboretum in a stunning setting on the edge of an ancient forest.
Walled gardens currently undergoing restoration. Garden centre open all year round.
In front of the house is the cricket lawn dating back to the 1740s. The longest beech avenue in England, laid out in the 18th century, leads from the house through the forest
Rowlands Castle, Hampshire, England, PO9 6DX
Grounds & Arboretum open all year. Daily 9-5pm Free parking, large Garden Centre & Tea room.
To house & chapel Adult £7.00;concessions £5.00; children £3.50