The Garden Guide

Royal Botanic Gardens Sydney

Sydney's Royal Botanic Gardens has a spectacular site on Farm Cove beside Sydney Harbour. Though now an oasis in the heart of Sydney, the site was originally an initiation ground on which the Aboriginal (Cadigal) people performed the 'Kangaroo and Dog Dance'. The Domain then became the Governor's Residence and the Botanical Garden was established in 1816. The original focus of the botanical garden was on creating an English character and growing European plants. Today, the development focus has shifted to the display and conservation of Australia's native flora. The theme gardens include:
1. Begonia Garden
2. Cadi Jam Ora: First Encounters
3. Government House Grounds
4. Herb Garden
5. HSBC Oriental Garden
6. Rainforest Walk
7. Mrs Macquaries Bushland Walk
8. Old Mill Garden & Greenway Terrace
9. Palm Grove
10. Pioneer Garden
11. Rare and Threatened Plants Garden
12. Australian Native Rockery
13. Palace Rose Garden
14. Succulent Garden
15. Sydney Fernery
16. Sydney Tropical Centre
17. Wollemi Pine 

The Botanic Garden contains Mrs Macquarie's Chair at the point where she was said to enjoy the view of Fort Darwin and Garden Island. There are fruit bats in the palm grove.

Photograph ©
Photograph ©

Mrs Macquaries Road, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia, NSW 2000

All year. Daily. Open 7am to dusk.

Free (except charge to the Tropical Centre)

Visit the Royal Botanic Gardens Sydney website

Nearby gardens