An eighteenth century woodland park, laid out by William Aislabie in 1765. Set in a 350' gorge, it has a grotto and ruins. Rated Grade 1 by English Heritage. The estate was painted by JMW Turner in 1816 at a time when it was a famous picturesque estate on the River Ure. It was purchased in 1731 by John Aislabie, the owner of Studley Royal, and laid out by his son, with grottoes, follies and other features. Restoration began with a Heritage Lottery Grant in 2002. The woods are now managed by the Woodland Trust and managaed by the Hackfall Trust. There is free access.
Grewelthorp, North Yorkshire, England, HG4
All year, Daily, Open dawn to dusk. Free car parking.