In the Meiji Period, about the year 1868, the whole of the grounds and those portions of the constructions within the Shogun's Castle which had escaped conflagration, became an Imperial estate, and prior to the completion of the new Palace it was occasionally permitted to a privileged few to visit what remained of the Fukiage Garden. As it stood a few years ago this was divided into three parts: that near the Fukiage gate called the New Enclosure, laid out as a grassy moor with clumps of pine trees and stone lanterns; the circular horse-ride, used for equestrian sports in the old style; and a hilly portion, containing rare rocks and a picturesque cascade and arbour. Garden structures still intact from ancient times were: the "Cascade-viewing Arbour,"ï¿½near the water-fall,ï¿½the "Maple Arbour," and the "Country House." the "Cascade-viewing Arbour" afforded a fine prospect across Tokio Bay, as well as a view of the water-fall, and looked down upon a bed of irises and other flowering plants spanned by a fantastic bridge of planks. The "Country House" was constructed in imitation of a farmer's house, with a cattle-shed, containing the model of a sleeping ox, and was furnished with various peasants' utensils. Few large gardens in Japan are without some such suggestion of the simplicity and picturesqueness of rural life. The portions of this garden best known are the water-fall and surrounding rockeries, which form a fine example of artificial cascade design.