An eighteenth century house, park and garden. Clandon Park was designed by Lancelot Brown, in 1781, on the site of an earlier garden. The house was built c.1730 for the 2nd Lord Onslow by the Venetian architect Giacomo Leoni. Clandon's interior is the most complete example of Leoni's work to survive and is notable for its magnificent two-storeyed, white Marble Hall. The Onslow family are unique in providing three Speakers of the House of Commons from one family. The house is filled with the superb collection of 18th-century furniture, porcelain, and textiles acquired in the 1920s by the connoisseur Mrs Gubbay. A garden was added in the late nineteenth century, with a parterre, grotto, sunken Dutch garden and a Maori meeting house. One of only four outside New Zealand, it was brought back in 1892 by the 4th Earl of Onslow, who was Governor there. The park has fine entrance gates and a lake but is not open to the public.